Gozo is part of the Republic of Malta, and the Maltese archipelago which consists of three main islands; Malta, Gozo and Comino. It is 67 km² in size and lies approximately 6 km northwest of the nearest point of Malta, is of oval form, and is 14 km in length and 7.25 km in width.

The island of Gozo is situated approximately in the centre of the Mediterranean between the large southern Italian island of Sicily and North Africa. Gozo is more than 90km south of Sicily and almost 300km east of Tunis and some 350km north of Libyan coast.

Gozo is more rural and known for its scenic hills. The island itself has a population of around 31,000 people.

It is rich in historical locations such as the Ġgantija temples which are the world’s oldest free-standing structures.

Its capital is Victoria, also known as Rabat. Gozo is famed for its character and places of interest. Some of these include the Calypso cave and Azure Window. Nonetheless in Gozo one can explore the finest beaches such as San Blas and the stunning Ramla Bay, with brilliant orange-red sand and clear turquoise waters.

Currently the island is reachable by ferry boat and by seaplane. Passenger and car ferries cross on a regular basis between the port of Mġarr on Gozo and Ċirkewwa on Malta.

The Gozitan economy rests upon small and medium enterprises which are the backbone of its economy together with tourism.